PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS | Lissie

COVERVILLE: Lissie is good, but I’ve been a bit reluctant to proclaim her “the voice” or the next Chrissie Hynde, as I’ve seen in other media. Don’t get me wrong, I immediately liked “Little Lovin'” — but I like my artists to have a career and a first record before making big proclamations about their talents. One thing is certain: The flaxen-haired Lissie, on the heels of a cool cover of Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance”, just outdid herself with this sick cover of Kid Cudi’s “Pursuit of Happiness”: “People told me slow my roll / I’m screaming out fuck that /I’m gonna do just what I want / And there ain’t no turnin’ back / If I fall, if I die, know I lived it to the fullest / If I fall, if I die, know I lived and missed some bullets.” In the high quality video below, Lissie introduces the song to a live audience, takes a swig of tequila, and belts out a charged-up, passionate rendition with a little venom. It’s a stunner. Lissie is from around my hometown (Rock Island, Ill.), so there’s a bit of pride in hearing her smokey-toned voice winning over so many fans in the build-up to her debut release, “Catching a Tiger”. The record release date is a bit confusing. It came out today, June 21st, in the UK. FatPossum Records shows an August 17th release date in the U.S. — David D. Robbins Jr.

Lissie “Pursuit of Happiness” (Kid Cudi Cover)

VIDEO BELOW: Lissie “Pursuit of Happiness” (Kid Cudi Cover)

VIDEO BELOW: Kid Cudi “Pursuit of Happiness” (feat. MGMT & Ratatat)

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

One thought on “PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS | Lissie

Leave a Reply

