9 Releases | Record Store Day

Record Store Day begins tomorrow. Yes, in part it’s another consumerist ploy to get people out and buying things. But on the other hand, it’s also about supporting good music and those mom-and-pop shops in your neighborhood that you’ve come to love. Many of my favorite artists and labels will have special releases available and the list is endless. So, here are nine of my choices for Record Store Day releases, in no particular order. — David D. Robbins Jr.

1. St. Vincent: “KROKODIL” 7-inch (4AD)
These are two new songs from the band, two oddly named tracks called, “KROKODIL” and “GROT”.

2. Xiu Xiu / Dirty Beaches: Split 7-inch (Polyvinyl)
Xiu Xiu cover Erasure’s “Always” and Dirty Beaches cover Françoise Hardy’s “Tue Ne Dis Rien”.

3. Beach House: “Lazuli” b/w “Equal Mind” 7-inch (Sub Pop)
First single off their upcoming album, “Bloom”. Blue vinyl, along with an non-album track, “Equal Mind”.

4. David Bowie: “Starman” 7-inch (Virgin Records)
This is a RSD exclusive on 7-inch picture disc. It’s the Top of Pops Performance of “Starman”

5. Deerhoof/of Montreal: split 7-inch (Polyvinyl)
A split single titled will feature tracks from both groups, including of Montreal’s “Feminine Effects”.

6. James Brown: “There It Is / Pass The Peas” 7-inch (UMe)
“Pass the peas / Pass the peas like we used to say it!” Hard not to feel pumped hearing that intro on your record player.

7. Public Image Ltd “One Drop EP” (PiL label)
Public Image Ltd confirm their first new material in 20 years will begin with the EP “One Drop”. John Lydon describes the track as: “One Drop is a reflection of where I grew up in Finsbury Park, Lon-don. The area that shaped me, and influenced me culturally and musically, a place I will forever feel connected to.”

8. Skip James “Devil Got My Woman” LP (Vanguard)
Yeah, you’ve read it correctly — a 12-song 1968 James LP newly remastered from the original tapes. No “Cherry Ball”, but it does contain cuts like “Devil Got My Woman”, “Look at the People Standing at the Judgment” and “Illinois Blues”.

9. School of Seven Bells: “Kiss Them for Me” 7-inch (Vagrant)
School of Seven Bells cover Siouxsie and the Banshees.


3 thoughts on “9 Releases | Record Store Day

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s