The People’s List | My Pitchfork Picks

August 19, 2012 at 9:46 pm 4 comments

Pitchfork created “The People’s List” so that its readers could select or rank what they believed were the best records between 1996-2011. The set-up was pretty slick, with album covers to choose from, which you could then rank in your own personal list. If an album wasn’t there, you could write it in. The music site is set to compile all the lists (the ones that selected 20 or more albums) and post the results from August 22-24. Sorry, but the voting is closed since yesterday. But I thought I’d post a link to my personal list — a Top 30. For me, lists are meant to be fun. I listed albums, off the top of my head, that I thought were wonderful. Each has a different reason for being on the list. There might be a couple of records that are head-scratchers for you, and may lead you to think I have terrible taste. Or maybe I’m missing an album you love. I just thought I’d share. To be honest, if I was given a chance to choose again, I might have changed-out 10 or 20 records. But that’s the fun of it all. That’s part of the beauty of music. It’s nearly impossible to rank all the albums that have meant something to me over the last 15 years. But maybe in my list you’ll find a record worth trying out. And maybe it will end up meaning something to you too. — David D. Robbins Jr.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Daughter | Smother Peaking Lights | “Dreambeat” (Video)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mark C. Austin  |  August 19, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    Great list!

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply
  • 2. DanP  |  August 20, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    well you do have terrible taste in music but I keep visiting here because I like the pictures😉

    Reply
  • 3. DanP  |  August 20, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Gladdened to see you’ve got EMA’s Past Life Martyred Saints on your list. What a powerful record. I saw her life this spring and her band (which includes her sister) was amazing and what they delivered live was IMHO even stronger than the album, a real amazing distinctive electric-electronic heavy folkrock sound. (I hope there are good recordings of that tour.) Apologies if I’ve told you all that before…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE

TBB Twitter Links & Videos

Their Bated Breath Archive

Recent Bated Breath posts

Guilt-Free Listening Zone

This is a guilt-free listening zone. We've built relationships with bands, artists, labels and PR firms to give you the best in new music. All songs on this site are sent to Their Bated Breath directly from the artists, their PR firms, their record labels, or are available via stream. Thanks so much to all of them. It's important to me that nothing posted here take away anything from the artists. Enjoy. -- David.

2014: Good Listens …

  • • Leonard Cohen "Popular Problems"
  • ANY CHARACTER HERE
    ANY CHARACTER HERE
  • • Warpaint "Warpaint"
  • ANY CHARACTER HERE
  • • Cibo Matto "Hotel Valentine"
  • ANY CHARACTER HERE
  • • Sharon Van Etten "Are We There"
  • ANY CHARACTER HERE
    ANY CHARACTER HERE

