CoMa | Wouldn’t It Be Good If It Was True?

November 27, 2012 at 8:05 am 5 comments

I’ve been listening to this CoMa (aka Nicole Fox) track, “Wouldn’t It Be Good If It Was True?”, for a few months now and have neglected to post about it. It’s so much a part of my personal i-pod playlist that I can’t help but write about it now before the year’s end. The song is part of an ever-growing online compilation of tracks simply titled, “The CoMa Collection”, which you can hear at bandcamp. (As of this post, the collection features 29 songs.) “Wouldn’t It Be Good If It Was True?” highlights that old artistic maxim that ‘less is more’, and it manages to convey sultry mood and seductive ambiance in feathery vocals, resonant piano, a clickety-clack sample, and soft heartbeat percussion. It’s reminiscent of some of the prettier female vocal-led Massive Attack tracks. The wonder of the lyrics rests in a kind of hyper-sensory reflection and the vagueness of sensual phrases like “I can feel it” and “someone’s coming” — that give the song that floating, immersive feel. Things are undefined and yet palpable. There’s such a power underneath the teeming surface of the song, but it’s also fragile as papier-mâché. The entire arrangement is majestic, sexy, and breathtaking. It’s clearly one of the best tracks released this year: “Breathing in / To taste the clouds / Let me slip away / And fade into the crowd / I want to evaporate / And be embraced by air  / I want to be water / And flow without a care / I can feel it, someone’s coming / I can feel the weight of their eyes / Whispering, so softly as they sing.” Follow CoMa at facebook, and listen to a new track, “Beauty In Errors”, posted a few days ago by Synthetic Epiphany & CoMa. Note: Artwork by Jenn Violetta. — David D. Robbins Jr.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Entry filed under: CoMa. Tags: .

Evy Jane | Nothing So Great (Video) Eternal Summers | Good As You (Video)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DanP  |  November 27, 2012 at 11:51 pm

    Wow, once again, very nice writing, David! It’s not easy to convey music and the feelings it invokes in prose, and you’re probably far better at that than you think!

    Reply
    • 2. daviddrobbins  |  November 28, 2012 at 11:44 pm

      Thanks Dan! Hope the wintry season is going well for you. Yeah, I wish I had more time to devote to writing posts. But I try as best as I can. First, I just try to be honest. And second, if I like something, I try to describe as best I can why a work is good. Thanks again.

      Reply
      • 3. DanP  |  November 28, 2012 at 11:47 pm

        I’ve gone & downloaded the entire collection for a small donation. Gee, David, I don’t know how I ever got by without Their Bated Breath

  • 4. DanP  |  November 27, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    now I’ve listened and OMG it’s a beautiful track!!!

    Reply
  • 5. DanP  |  November 28, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    On the basis of this track I’ve gone & downloaded the entire collection for a small donation…don’t know how I ever got by without this blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE

TBB Twitter Links & Videos

Their Bated Breath Archive

Recent Bated Breath posts

Guilt-Free Listening Zone

This is a guilt-free listening zone. We've built relationships with bands, artists, labels and PR firms to give you the best in new music. All songs on this site are sent to Their Bated Breath directly from the artists, their PR firms, their record labels, or are available via stream. Thanks so much to all of them. It's important to me that nothing posted here take away anything from the artists. Enjoy. -- David.

2014: Good Listens …

  • • Leonard Cohen "Popular Problems"
  • ANY CHARACTER HERE
    ANY CHARACTER HERE
  • • Warpaint "Warpaint"
  • ANY CHARACTER HERE
  • • Cibo Matto "Hotel Valentine"
  • ANY CHARACTER HERE
  • • Sharon Van Etten "Are We There"
  • ANY CHARACTER HERE
    ANY CHARACTER HERE

