Neko Case | New LP Video Teaser

June 6, 2013 at 11:18 pm Leave a comment

Neko Case posted a video on facebook and at her official website with the message “HEY, LOOK!!! IT’S FINALLY DONE!!” I’m assuming she means she finished with her first record in the last four years, the follow up to 2009’s “Middle Cyclone”. The record title seems to appear at the end of the video: “The Worse Things Get, The Harder I Fight. The Harder I Fight, The More I Love You”. And the song must be the one alluded to in a recent NPR interview. Judging by the lyrics the song is “Where Did I Leave That Fire”. The song sounds isolated, contemplative and aquatic. Apparently, the pinging you hear is actually a sample of a submarine, because the sound of the original demo sounded very other-worldly to Neko. I think it’s a fantastic teaser track, the end of the track falling away into some of those eery white-noise sonics that remind me of Wilco’s “Yankee Hotel Foxtrot”. The lyrics of “Where Did I Leave That Fire” appear briefly in written form in the video clip, but can also be heard clearly in its ghostly out-of-body desire: “A chill ran through me / And I grabbed on tight / That was when I left my body for good / I shook off all the strength I’d earned / I wanted so badly not to be me / I wanted so badly not to be me / Where did I leave that fire?” Note: Photos are screen captures from the video. — David D. Robbins Jr.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Entry filed under: Neko Case. Tags: .

The Laplings | The Laplings LP Waxahatchee | Coast To Coast (Video)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE
ANY CHARACTER HERE

TBB Twitter Links & Videos

Their Bated Breath Archive

Recent Bated Breath posts

Guilt-Free Listening Zone

This is a guilt-free listening zone. We've built relationships with bands, artists, labels and PR firms to give you the best in new music. All songs on this site are sent to Their Bated Breath directly from the artists, their PR firms, their record labels, or are available via stream. Thanks so much to all of them. It's important to me that nothing posted here take away anything from the artists. Enjoy. -- David.

2014: Good Listens …

  • • Leonard Cohen "Popular Problems"
  • ANY CHARACTER HERE
    ANY CHARACTER HERE
  • • Warpaint "Warpaint"
  • ANY CHARACTER HERE
  • • Cibo Matto "Hotel Valentine"
  • ANY CHARACTER HERE
  • • Sharon Van Etten "Are We There"
  • ANY CHARACTER HERE
    ANY CHARACTER HERE

