The City and Horses | Re-Inking


The City and Horses
have a new album, “Strange Range”, out now via Paper Gardens Records. I’ve been playing the album opener, “Whip”, quite a bit. It’s a tongue-in-cheek neo-soul number, with a hint of that cheeky Beck “Debra” vibe to it. (“You see what happens / When I crack the whip / He won’t give me no trouble / And he won’t give me no lip.”) The Philly band build a strong groove here, but aren’t afraid to let the noise-guitar blow up some of the prettiness, keeping the track from becoming to cutesy. I have a feeling the band also knows “Whip” is one of the better tracks on the record, because it begins “Strange Range”. But you’d do well to listen to “Re-Inking” too, a song that drops some of the album’s humor and goes straight for the music: “I need to change my ways / I haven’t changed for days / It’s now more than a phase … / I need to change my head / Un-say things I’ve said / Unread books I’ve read.” It’s a sweet track. You can follow the band at facebook. — David D. Robbins Jr.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

