Belle Ville | Flat

Denmark’s Belle Ville have a new EP, “Inside Outside”, that I’ve been enjoying for the last month. The record begins with a space-quest called “Motionless”, a song with breathy and sexy vocals sung by Line Gøttsche Dyrholm and a spacey synth vibe created by Anders Kirk Uhrenholt and friends: “I’ve lost my space rocket / And now I don’t know why, I had to go so high …” It’s a wonderful opening track on their six-song release, which can be purchased on I-Tunes. As sultry as the opening cut is, “Flat”, is just as lounge-lovely. There’s a intimacy to “Flat” that soothes like balm until a small explosions of synth, computerized blips and blasts of white noise. It’s a wonderful mixing of mood and style. One of the more interesting things about the song is the way Line breaks up the lyrics (and even individual words) into little delectable pieces. Listen to her singing these lush lyrics: “Every caress / On her shoulder / I can feel / While I am breathing / Your lips / So won’t you please let me listen in / Let me be a part of it / I promise to tell no one / I promise to keep it to myself …” Follow the band on facebook and an official website. This EP will be right up the alley of listeners who enjoyed Sia with Zero 7 or maybe even a band like Everything But the Girl. Note: Photo taken by Malthe Ivarsson. The band also features Mikkel Grevsen on trumpet and August Dyrborg on percussion. All lyrics are unofficial. — David D. Robbins Jr.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a comment