INTERVIEW | Evenings


Nathan Broaddus, of Evenings, was kind enough to answer some questions from Their Bated Breath. This is the fourth question-and-answers session on this blog — a feature that hopefully allows you to get to know a little something about some of the best musicians around, and gives them a chance to talk directly to you about life, music and whatever is on their minds. Broaddus has a new EP out now, entitled “North Dorm” (2010):

Q: What kind of instruments/machines do you use to create your music?
A: I have a lot of guitars. I just keep getting more of these things. I suppose they’re my vice. I also sample a lot of old synths, then use the sounds as midi.  As for gear, I have a basic keyboard for midi — which isn’t expensive at all, and a small mobile-fire wire interface to record. I use Ableton and Akai to control things.

Q: What kinds of things have inspired you lately?
A: Man. There is so much good new music out there. When I was writing and recording ‘North Dorm’ there was a good month when I was sort of out of the loop when it came to following current music.  Inspiration on the EP came from listening to a lot of different things. Bibio, Caribou, Toro y Moi and Gold Panda are some of the bigger names that were on repeat while making the album. Lately, Baths, Sumsun, Rxry, and Hard Mixx have been wearing out my I-Pod.

Q: Do you get a chance to get out and see other bands’ live shows in Virginia?
A: I really like seeing live shows. The last show I actually went and saw was Caribou with Toro y Moi opening. It was around the end of May. Caribou’s subtlety is, to say the least, incredible. As for Virginia, going to school in Charlottesville has been a great experience so far.  There’s a very cool “up and coming” music scene here that not a lot of people seem to know about.  “Left & Right”, “Manorlady”, and “Invisible Hand” should definitely be checked out.  I hope that the city gains more attention eventually. It really deserves some.

Q: What bands do you admire?
A:
Gosh. I could go on for a while. I’ve already listed a few but here are some more recent plays from my I-Tunes: Talking Heads, Bonobo, Air, Slowdive, Pavement, The Jesus and Mary Chain, Husker Du, Van Morrision, Delorean, M83, New Order, Ratatat, Lcd soundsystem, My Bloody Valentine, Mogwai. Flock of Seagulls’ “Space Age Love Song”, a great song, great haircut.

Q: What album do you find yourself still amazed by?
This is a hard question. I could listen to AIR’s “Talkie Walkie” endlessly.  The Books’ “Food For Thought”.

Q: People may call you chillwave, but it’s not really that is it? What do you think you sound like?
A: I understand the chillwave and Glo-fi references. In fact, I’d probably use those terms to describe the sound in passing. It’s definitely Glo-fi-esque. But it’s actually hard for me to classify as well. I’m not trying to sound like anyone in particular, and I hope that shows. Virginia is a unique state. It’s not exactly the home of chillwave like South Carolina. It’s hot and humid in the summer but the winters here are much different. We had several snow storms last winter of two feet or more. The album sounds a little less tropical than most chillwave I’d say, and it sort of just came out that way.

Q: What’s up next for Evenings?
A: Well, I’m working on new stuff right now. Something for a compilation, a remix, and if everything goes as planned, a 7-inch for a label is in the works for the fall. I’m really excited about it. The first live shows should start really soon as well. I’m pulling my friends aboard to play out. My roommate and I are sorting out the live set-up, then once school starts we’ll be juggling shows and books.

Evenings “Favorite Maze”

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

One thought on “INTERVIEW | Evenings

  1. Pingback: Evenings « HELL IS OTHER HIPSTERS

Leave a comment